If you have been charged with a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) in the state of Oregon there are a few crucial things that you must know. A DUI is a very serious offense so it is probably best for you to seek out competent legal assistance familiar with the state laws and regulations.
The penalty for DUI in Oregon includes possible fines, license suspension, or even jail time. The level of punishment depends on what the severity of the offense is determined to be. The most severe penalties include:
– 5 years in jail
– A $10,000 fine
– Permanent revocation of your driver’s license
– Mandatory Drug and Alcohol Treatment Program registration
– Mandatory participation in the Victim’s Impact Panel project
The judge will consider many factors to determine the severity of your offence including your history of DUI, the presence of children or anyone under the age of 18 in your vehicle, and you blood-alcohol level at the time of the offense.
If you meet certain qualifications you may be eligible for Oregon’s DUI Diversion Program which will result in your DUI being dismissed. To find out if you qualify for the program, or other legal options that may be available to you, you should contact a professional personal injury law firm in Portland, like Dwyer Williams Potter Attorneys LLP. They can provide you with the best opportunity to avoid time in jail and other strict penalties.